Help My Unbelief

As I am growing every day in the Lord I have come to realize my unbelief. And however much that sounds like a paradox, it’s the truth.  Although, God typically doesn’t reveal things to me unless and until I am being completely real and vulnerable with Him.  My problem is not that I don’t believe IN God, often times I just don’t believe Him.

So why do I doubt such a mighty and powerful God?  Because for so long I have relied solely upon myself.  Even when I have not doubted Him with my words, I have doubted Him with my actions by continually putting myself first.  This only furthers my pride in temporary moments of success and enhances my defeat in permanent moments of weakness.

Matthew 7:8 says-“For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.”  Those very words are the words of Jesus!  How could I not believe Him when he speaks them?  When I ask for God’s help I have to believeBelieve Blog that He will rescue me.  However, I do not think that it is God’s plan to equip me to handle things on my own.  If this were the case I would result to worshiping myself for my great deeds and therefore enhance my pride even more.  I think His plan is to prepare my heart to be a very large vessel for the Spirit to work through me.  So it is my job to not only believe that He can do the things He says he can, but that he also desires to.  One of the ways that He can display his beautiful love for me is not doing things for me because He can but because He wants to!  Today I’m choosing to believe, will you?

“If you can do anything take pity on us and help us.” “If you can?” replied Jesus.  “Everything is possible for him who believes.”  Immediately the boy’s father excliamed, “I do belive; help me overcome my unbelief!”–Mark 9:22-24

~ by Jessica Baker on July 21, 2009.

One Response to “Help My Unbelief”

  1. Wow! This one spoke straight to me, so much here to unpack! Do you have a daily devotional you might suggest or a method to begin diving into the Bible on a daily basis? I know that might seem like an elementary question but that is often the hardest and most revisited struggle for many of us I do believe, particularly during this “in between” time of life like we were talking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
